Wait, isn't all wine vegan? Nope: Traditionally wines go through clarification which is a process known as 'fining.' After fermentation wines are hazy and contain tiny molecules such as tannins, tartrates, phenolics, and proteins. This is all natural and adds's complex character to the wine. But to appeal the consumer, conventional wine producers often clarify the wine to produce a crystal clear and bright looking bottle on the shelf.
If wines are left long enough (as natural wines usually are), the wine can stabilize itself and will naturally settle. Although we love picking up a bottle of pure cloudy heaven. :)
So what's in those clarification agents? Common fining agents include albumin (egg whites), casein (a milk protein), and isinglass (fish bladder). Our natural wine producers use none of these and mostly don't fine at all. However, some do but with bentonite (a clay-based fining agent), and active charcoal - both are vegan.
So why is it Vegan-Friendly and not Vegan? Well, we'd like to tread lightly, these producers are making Natural wines, a method in which they believe. It just so happens we select our producers vegan to accommodate those who are. Wine is a far cry away from going vegan mainstream. And if you've found one that is, it might get repetitious drinking the same wine continually over again. It is also expensive for certifications, just like so many of our small producers aren't certified organic. They mostly further exceed the organic standards, but financially it does not make sense to go certified.
We work with our producers and suppliers on a personal level and make sure there aren't animal products used in the production of wine. If you have any questions, please drop us a line.